Author Topic: Say Hi and Introduce Yourself  (Read 3315985 times)

Pursuit

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Say Hi and Introduce Yourself
« Reply #950 on: December 11, 2013, 10:30:56 AM »
Hey everybody,

My name's Nick. I finished college about a year ago in CT, and got my degree in Economics. I came across Mustachianism in mid July and have been lurking the site since. My shiny, new, 10 year plan is for FI through a combination of Mustachianism and dividend growth investing. Despite the fact that I haven't broken into a career yet, I graduated with no debt, and a net worth of about 5-6k wrapped up in my TD Ameritrade account. The car is paid off, so if we add that, I'm sitting somewhere around 15k.

See you guys around!

Al

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #951 on: December 11, 2013, 02:54:20 PM »
Hi,
My name is Alicia.  I'm married with 2 kids- 4 and 6. 

To this point, we have lived a very non-mustachian life.  We have been striving for the standard "American Dream" but it seems to be a moving target.  We're in a place where it seems like we have it, but we still keep wanting "stuff" and it feels ridiculous to me.  That, in addition to realizing that my husband never has been and never will be happy in a corporate job, has led me to blogs like MMM and others that have to do with simplifying life.  Strangely, my husband is not on board with me at this point, but I hope to change things. 

Here is our good news: We have no credit card debt.  I think that might be it- ha!
Actually, we spend less than 20% of our take home pay on our mortgage and still live in a pretty nice house. 

Bad news: (and there is a lot of it)
-We have 1 car loan.  (Just bought a new car in March of this year-  a 4 year loan at 1.5% and we're paying extra each month) At least it gets 43mpg.  Prior to that, we had 2 years of no car payments. 
-I have 1 student loan out still  for about $9K.  (This is super high on my hit list to take out)