Author Topic: Say Hi and Introduce Yourself  (Read 1222824 times)

happyuk

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Say Hi and Introduce Yourself
« Reply #3850 on: January 01, 2019, 02:40:37 PM »
Hi Andy here.  I'm a software developer based in the UK.  I'm a keen gardener, almost reaching the stage where I am fully self-sufficient in potatoes, onions and legumes and a few other staples.  Steadily working my way out of the wage-slave treadmill to go and do something where I can feel like my actual livelihood is in my own hands. 

Very heavily influenced by the author John Seymour who was eminent in the back-to-the-land movement in the UK:

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/John_Seymour_(author)

I heartily recommend his book "The fat of the land" for anyone interested in self-sufficiency.

george_michael

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Embrace the new, always.
« Reply #3851 on: January 01, 2019, 06:45:10 PM »
I am really hardcore software engineer and workaholic (married;), who had to jumped out of office cubicle (head of r&d, lead, senior) straight to the self employment. Until 2016 I was fighting the world, the government, the corporation, and my boss, until realized that I need just let the world work for me via the financial assets. Learning US stock market and becoming a top rated freelancer were the first steps to make. (I was sooo excited to know that six figure salary is much easier to make for me being an independent freelancer, not part of any corporation, participating to cool IT startups from time to time.) Now my 5 year goal is becoming FIRE and aquiring rental properties outside of my country. Of coarse I am not going to stop working even after that, just decrease number oh workhours from 70hrs a week to 25hrs a week:)
I really enjoy a lot of things... beat making, playing keys, piano, arranging music, air and firearm range shooting, pc gaming.
By the way my annual cost of frugal living of my family is $25k ... life is expensive in large cities even here.