Author Topic: Say Hi and Introduce Yourself  (Read 548699 times)

Moiser

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Say Hi and Introduce Yourself
« Reply #3100 on: January 17, 2017, 02:22:57 AM »
Hey guys!

I've been reading the blog and lurking on the forum for around six months.

I'm a 31YO English expat with no fixed residence.

I currently work in the offshore oil and gas industry on a 28 day rotation, I spend 99% of my free time traveling. I've started to apply what I've been reading here and have started to take steps to secure my financial future when I decide to leave the oil and gas industry to pursue something that I have a little more passion for.

Looking forward to getting involved in the community!

Mon

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3101 on: January 18, 2017, 08:28:57 AM »
Hi!
Montse from Spain.

Gal2016

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • FIRE - 2031
« Reply #3102 on: January 18, 2017, 12:07:29 PM »
Hi. Gal2016 here.  I've made a habit of living rather frugally over the last 8 years, but am now married to a spender who needs lots of help digging out of the credit card hole that he inherited in his divorce. This last year has meant a geographical move, a new job (making 30K less than my previous) and step-kids.

Coming here for encouragement.  We make a good living, even with my reduced income but have a tremendous debt-load.  Slowly whittling it away and will be debt-free except for mortgages and student loans by the end of 2017.  I've got a house on the market, and it will be a huge relief once it sells.

We've both got pensions/retirements and I have a 403B that I've contributed to for a decade.  Once the CC debt is paid off, I'll max out my 403B (no employer match, unfortunately).  We're looking to semi-retire in 13 years to travel and pick up work as we feel the need.  We'll be 55 and 53 at retirement, if things go as planned.

Guide2003

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3103 on: January 20, 2017, 02:21:12 PM »