Author Topic: Say Hi and Introduce Yourself  (Read 3315964 times)

Dutch

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Say Hi and Introduce Yourself
« Reply #1950 on: February 20, 2015, 07:16:42 AM »
Hi all,

i'm Jan early 30s and living in The Netherlands. on my way to retire early mid 40s.
Just started reading the forums and wanting to reply so here my first post and introduction.

Jan

Gray Peachfuzz

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #1951 on: February 20, 2015, 09:13:24 AM »
I am new to the Ways of Mustache, came across the blog from a link that started in DailyKos, talking about going for very low utility bills via high-efficiency. It's actually the 2nd time I was linked here, the first one was related to the debt snowball, but this time it stuck. More on that later, after I recover from punching myself in the face continuously. For me, "early" retirement is already off the table because of my age, but it's not too late to work on a better retirement.

Consumerism: Buying things you don't need, with money you don't have, to impress people that don't care about you.

jlajr

• Stubble
Israeli badassity
« Reply #1952 on: February 21, 2015, 05:08:37 AM »
Hello.

I'm Jay, I'm 44, single, never married, no children. I was born in the US and grew up there. In early 1997, I moved to Israel, which used to be much more mustachian but has become a woefully unmustachian place in general, but with remnants of mustachianism and encouraging patches of new growth.

Without even knowing it, I've always been somewhat of a financial badass regarding expenses. Unfortunately, I wasn't a financial badass regarding saving until a little over a year ago, when I started reading about FIRE and discovered MMM. Now, THAT was a sucker punch to the face.

Instead of blowing 30% of my base salary on fun but ultimately less-than-worthwhile bullshit, I started saving it instead, and, just like that, my potential FIRE date became 10 years down the road instead of 35.