Author Topic: Roth IRA as emergency fund  (Read 1690 times)

engineeringFIRE

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Roth IRA as emergency fund
« on: November 19, 2018, 10:30:07 PM »
Hello! I've been reading these forums for awhile now, but this is my first time posting.  I'm fairly young, 25, and not at a point where I'm able to save much more than the amount I'm allowed to contribute to tax-advantaged accounts (401K, IRA, & HSA).  I have cash equal to 2 months of living expenses, and I have contributed another 4 months of living expenses to my Roth IRA.  From my understanding, I can withdraw contributions from a Roth IRA (opened less than 5 years ago) tax and penalty free.

My strategy is to max out retirement & HSA accounts before adding any more cash to my after-tax emergency fund, with a plan to withdraw from the Roth IRA if a large emergency happens. I have my Roth IRA emergency assets invested conservatively to prevent a loss from withdrawing in a bear market.  Once I've built an appropriate after-tax emergency fund, I'll invest the Roth IRA fully into VTSAX. Do you see any holes in this strategy? 

Monkey Uncle

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Roth IRA as emergency fund
« Reply #1 on: November 20, 2018, 04:48:01 AM »
Seems like it ought to work.  But if you have the money invested conservatively no matter where it is parked, I see no real advantage to having it in a Roth IRA vs. a savings account or taxable money market account.  I suppose there is a tax advantage to parking it in a Roth, but at the rate cash is earning these days, it probably won't make an appreciable difference.

terran

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: November 20, 2018, 06:20:22 AM »