Author Topic: Robots and their impact on the future  (Read 537561 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

scottish

• Magnum Stache
Re: Robots and their impact on the future
« Reply #201 on: February 03, 2015, 05:21:37 PM »
That was pretty speculative for such a massive blog post.    It would be neat if he had labelled the axes on his graphs!

I'm going to take the opposing view and argue that artificial intelligence isn't going to keep improving on an exponential curve as Tim Urban speculates.

The first problem is that exponential growth curves don't last in the real world.    The growth rate quickly becomes so extreme that it encounters physical limits.    Tom Murphy has a good blog post on this topic here.

http://physics.ucsd.edu/do-the-math/2012/06/ruthless-extrapolation/

The second problem is that intelligence requires a feedback loop.   Your spam filter has a feedback loop to learn what you consider spam - every time you mark an e-mail as spam it updates rules that it uses to categorize an e-mail as spam or not spam.     This feedback loop is one of the reasons for the success of 'artificial narrow intelligence'.    All of these systems have sufficiently narrow scope that its easy - for degrees of easy - to design a feedback loop that allows them to learn.