Author Topic: Republican Tax Plan 2017  (Read 380951 times)

schmerna

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Republican Tax Plan 2017
« Reply #700 on: November 29, 2017, 08:55:55 AM »
I don't remember if my fellowship stipend was taxed back in the day when I did my masters degree. I was so low-income though that it probably wasn't much tax...don't know.

When my employer paid for another masters degree, it was considered income and I had to pay income tax on it, even though I never received the actual income in money form. The company directly paid the tuition.

I didn't realize stipend payments for graduate degree were not taxed.

They are, we are referring to tuition waivers, not stipends.

Some stipends are seen as payment for teaching and therefore taxed as earned income, including FICA. Some are awards and therefore exempt from FICA. However, they are still income to be reported.

Now that I think about it, I did not have to pay income tax on the fellowship amount that went towards my tuition, only on the stipend. It makes sense now.

But when my employer paid for another masters, I did have to pay income tax on it...weird.

The FICA exemption (including tax free tuition remission) for Graduate Students in for full-time students enrolled in degree programs that are also Graduate Assistants (Research Assistants, Teaching Assistants, etc). 

You wages from your employer made you ineligible for the exemption when you were employed.

sol

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #701 on: November 29, 2017, 08:58:04 AM »
Agreed, it seems like the biggest argument in favor of the estate tax is "they're rich, they can afford it".

I think the better argument is "they're dead, they don't need it anymore."  Death is the best time to pay taxes.  That tax rate should be higher than any tax rate you ever paid while alive.