Author Topic: Please help me to understand the MMM's article "How to Retire on a Fixed Chunk "  (Read 5157 times)

juliette

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Hello,
Please help me to understand the MMM’s article “How to Retire Forever on a Fixed Chunk of Money ” (published in Nov 2018). I have very little experience with investments. I really need to understand this article since I would like to do something similar in near future.
1.   He mentioned the index fund VTI “Total Stock Market Exchange Traded Fund”. Here is the quote: “Right now, the VTI fund happens to pay a 1.89% annual dividend, which means that the $500,000 account in that green box above will pay $9000 in annual dividends straight to you.”
I am considering VTI or something similar as well, but I am confused about 1.89% annual dividend. Isn’t this very low? I thought this kind of fund (stocks only?) should pay more like 4% to 7% dividends per year. I thought that there are CDs that pay more than that.

2.   Then he writes: “if you’re shooting for $40,000 of annual spending, simply set up an automatic monthly withdrawal of an additional $31,000 per year ($2583 per month) to be sent to your checking account”.
My understanding is that he recommends to withdraw $9K+31K per year from that taxable account for a number of years.
If I understand correctly, the $9K in dividends will be considered as earned income, but $31K withdrawals are not earned income. Am I correct?

3.    This leads me to my next question about health insurance. He wrote this: “If I go to healthcare.gov right now (or in my case the Colorado-specific equivalent) and put in a hypothetical 4-person family with a $40,000 annual income in my zip code right now, I see this:…”