Author Topic: Obamacare survives  (Read 66427 times)

EricP

• Bristles
Re: Obamacare survives
« Reply #200 on: June 30, 2015, 09:27:05 AM »
Regarding the poster with the $59 dental cleaning special - that is very likely a loss leader.  Get a new patient in, they are more likely to come back.  Attorneys offer free consultations for this very reason.  It is also why we accept some legal insurance plans.  We will absolutely lose money on some of the cases but make it back up when that person gets in a car accident and hires us as their personal injury lawyer. That's how groupon and all those other social networking coupon things work. 

I doubt they are straight up losing money on it, but I can believe that it's a "loss leader."

What I mean by that is if I'm a dentist I (generally) own my own practice.  I buy a building, equipment, etc.  Most of my costs are going to be fixed.  Regardless of how many patients I have it's going to cost me $X per month to keep this place open.

There are a few costs, however, that are variable.  The hygienists, front desk lady, power to run the equipment, etc.  Do I think that those cost $118 per chair per hour (I'm assuming two cleanings an hour)?  Doubtful, so it's better to have someone paying $59 in the chair then it being empty, but I'm betting he won't be able to afford his overhead (and pay himself) on only $59 per cleaning, which is why it costs the regular patients $250.

Edit:  Bottom Line is that most costs for stuff in the medical field are fixed.  They charge you $50 for a Band-Aid, not because the Band-Aid costs $50, but because the overhead for that Band-Aid costs $50. (The nurse that puts it on, the front desk staff, the back office staff purchasing the Band-Aid, etc.)
« Last Edit: June 30, 2015, 09:29:25 AM by EricP »

forummm

• Walrus Stache
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #201 on: June 30, 2015, 09:47:20 AM »