Author Topic: Mystery shopping  (Read 2942 times)

englishteacheralex

• Magnum Stache
Mystery shopping
« on: June 07, 2016, 09:28:26 AM »
Has anybody tried being a mystery shopper, or known somebody who has done this?

I'm a teacher with a 2 year old son. I always used to teach summer school and bank the extra cash, but when my son was born I vowed to stay home with him during all breaks from work. But staying at home still leaves me with some extra time on my hands, and I've lined up a job with a mystery shopping company because it's flexible and something I can do from home while the baby is napping. (The actual shopping is done on the field, but this seems like actually a small part of the job--it's mostly writing up the audit afterward.)

It seems like a good way of a. getting out of the house b. scoring a little (maybe very little) extra cash for the stash c. getting free restaurant meals for my husband and me, thereby cutting down a little on our food budget.

Any mystery shopping hacks that make it more profitable/efficient?

Gimesalot

• Pencil Stache
Re: Mystery shopping
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2016, 10:58:26 AM »
I did mystery shopping for a while and it worked out.  It will take some time to figure out which assignments are the best, meaning the most money for the least effort.  My best gigs were through marketforce.com.  Unfortunately, they are really strict.  I messed up once, and I am now banned from the site.  So be careful.

Honestly, I would not count too much on the food because it was always junk food. 

One more thing, the shops that pay the most are age compliance shops.  Think R rated movies, buying cigarettes, ordering booze.  So try to find someone that is around 18 to 20 years old to help you with some shops. 

englishteacheralex

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 07, 2016, 11:23:51 AM »
Awesome hack! I teach high school, so I know TONS of kids under 18 who are looking to make a buck.

ashelbashel

• 5 O'Clock Shadow