Author Topic: Mustachian People Problems (just for fun)  (Read 5086781 times)

lemanfan

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Mustachian People Problems (just for fun)
« Reply #7500 on: May 29, 2020, 09:11:17 AM »
These Macs are so old, that Google Chrome/Safari/Firefox no long support them. I know what I'm doing, I'm an IT professional. :D Next stop could be installing Linux, but it would be a hassle as kids want to keep their game licenses, etc.

As an IT professional, do you really want software without updated security patches connected to the Intertubes?  ;)

Plina

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #7501 on: May 29, 2020, 12:20:17 PM »
I'm still employed, but I'm not saving much (more) money as a result of social distancing. I didn't eat out at restaurants much before the pandemic and I walked or biked almost everywhere. I've saved the small amounts I would have spent on the occasional bus ride, but my electricity bill has gone up slightly and I'm doing laundry more often.

Meanwhile, my spendy colleagues are surprised by how much money they have left over in their accounts now. They've become involuntarily frugal.
I actually pay more now. Electricity, heating (luckily not much now) and even food (because the company heavily subsized the warm meal)

I have increased my use of electricity by 20 kWh per month but because the electricity has gotten cheaper I actually got paid to use the electricity. The only thing left on my bill was the fee for the environmental certificate and the tax. All adding up to a 1 USD. I have a separate fee for the grid, about 14 USD. I actually felt sorry for the electricity company because it cost them probably more to bill me for those 90 kWh then I paid them.

Reynold

• Bristles
« Reply #7502 on: May 29, 2020, 02:13:58 PM »

Because I'm not shopping sales our groceries have gone up over 50%!  I can't keep up with that.
[/quote]