Author Topic: MMM rents his house for $2,400 per month?  (Read 7104 times)

Baylor3217

• Bristles
MMM rents his house for $2,400 per month?
« on: May 26, 2014, 02:32:50 PM »
why would someone rent a house for this much for several years?

2) I believe the house cost about $400,000 which is an over 7% cash on cash return. Not too shabby if my numbers are correct about rent and purchase price

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: MMM rents his house for $2,400 per month?
« Reply #1 on: May 26, 2014, 02:36:49 PM »

2) I believe the house cost about $400,000 which is an over 7% cash on cash return. Not too shabby if my numbers are correct about rent and purchase price

1) They'd do it because that's the going rental rate in the area in which they want to live, and they don't want to buy.

2) Okay?
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Emilyngh

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 26, 2014, 03:00:01 PM »

Because they want to live in a house in an area and decide that it's better for whatever reason than buying.

Not quite as high, but we used to pay $1700 a mo to rent a total POS house in a crap neighborhood.  One of the best financial decisions of our lives.    We knew we didn't want to stay for long (stayed 4 years) and buying would have worked out to have been horribly financially in that we would have lost a ton in buying/selling such expensive houses in the current market.   If we had a child at the time, we might have decided to live in a slightly nicer/safer area, where we would have paid around that, and still would have been able to save a fat stache every month due to the high paying jobs we were able to have by living where we did.