Author Topic: Making Money from Ebooks ?  (Read 67501 times)

stashing_it

• Stubble
Making Money from Ebooks ?
« on: August 30, 2015, 12:57:01 PM »
I was wondering who has successfully made money selling ebooks on kindle or another platform, and if you have any advice you can offer or your own story to tell

From googling, it certainly seems there are people out there making decent money, but it is hard to separate those stories from the "buy my product and I'll show you how to make money" kind of stories

sparkshooter

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Making Money from Ebooks ?
« Reply #1 on: August 30, 2015, 03:16:04 PM »
Back in 2010, I worked as a student digitizing obscure, out-of-copyright books for my university's library. That inspired me to take some of the interesting/obscure books, format them for kindle, and offer them as $.99 downloads. It took me about an hour of work/book and I listed about 20 books.

For each digital download, I receive about 30% of the sale price, so $.30. My average income now is approx. $130/month with some months that are inexplicably high ($200+). One of the 20 books is the major seller by far. The money is directly deposited in my chequing account once a month. I get a 1099 at the end of the year.

Not big money, but it was easy and at this point, zero work. I see it going on indefinitely.

protostache

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #2 on: August 30, 2015, 04:48:20 PM »
I wrote what is effectively a long-form programming tutorial in 2013 and sell it for $30-$60 each. It's been bringing in a steady $1200-$2000 every month since launch with very few updates, for a total gross of just over $55k. I self-publish on my own home-grown platform. I do not sell on any third party platforms. Here's a great read on why I don't:

https://medium.com/@thomasfuchs/5-rules-to-sell-thousands-of-copies-of-your-ebook-cd2a23c6662

Kris

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #3 on: August 30, 2015, 04:59:16 PM »