Author Topic: Introduction  (Read 1495 times)

Baldeagle721

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Introduction
« on: January 12, 2021, 02:16:22 PM »
Hello fellow mustachians, I wanted to introduce myself as I've been lurking the forums for a while. I've been studying personal finance for around two years. I am 26 years young and currently live in Brooklyn, NY. I landed a really good job with the city about 2.5 years ago. This job offers a 6 figure salary, health benefits, a pension, and a 457 investment plan. The 457 is a 401k for government employees as I am eligible to retire in 20 years and have full access to it. During this time I have read multiple finance books and read through this whole blog a few times! I started with Dave Ramsey's book, JL Collins Simple Path to Wealth to name a few. These books have got me on what I seem to be on the right track. I still live in my parent's home which allowed me to pay off all my debt! I am currently saving money to move out and increase my savings account. The only investment I am in is my 457 VTSAX alternative plan. I am contributing 12% of my income weekly. My questions going forward as I have been having information overload from Youtube and other sites. Should I be investing in individual stocks recommended by a Motley fool site or something similar? After watching some videos online with Robert Kiyosaki he recommends trying to get into Real estate and buying Gold/Silver. Also, some advisors have been pushing the Bitcoin craze which I am totally confused about. This is my first post so I don't want to blabber too much but my last question is the City's "financial advisor" is pushing some type of Infinite Banking Concept in the form of High Cash Value Life Insurance. I am not sure how to feel about all these confusing things and would appreciate any advice!

RWD

• Walrus Stache
Re: Introduction
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2021, 03:33:16 PM »
Welcome!