151 (34.2%)
Master's degree
140 (31.7%)
Doctorate/professional degree
93 (21.1%)
None
4 (0.9%)

Total Members Voted: 436

Author Topic: How much education do you have?  (Read 11277 times)

Luck12

• Bristles
Re: How much education do you have?
« Reply #50 on: May 08, 2018, 07:00:23 PM »
[quote author=MrMoogle link=topic=91754.msg1999734#msg1999734 The problem is I think SAT has changed at least twice in the last two decades.  It went from out of 1600 to out of 2400, then back to out of 1600, but the average score increased.  Something like that, I don't remember.  I just know when I graduated high school one kid in my city got a 1600, then the year I graduated college, 10 kids in my previous high school had 1600's (even more in the city). 

So it would be difficult comparing an SAT score from 2010 to one from 1980.
[/quote]

You can scale the pre-1995 SAT's X/1600 scores to post-1995 X/1600 scores, I'm sure you could do the same for X/2400.   Anyway my guess is the median poster here would be at the 90th percentile at a minimum. 

Gone Fishing

• Magnum Stache
  • So Close went fishing on April 1, 2016
    • Journal
« Reply #51 on: May 08, 2018, 07:22:52 PM »
BSBA-Economics.  I'm often the least (formally) educated at the table. Perhaps the highest ROI, though!

ETBen

• Bristles
    • I started a journal about single parenting and the new life towards FIRE
« Reply #52 on: May 08, 2018, 07:45:52 PM »
MBA and BSN (Nursing). I’m a nurse exec so i bring in a great wage compared to the cost of my education. Especially considering I entered the field with a cheap associates degree. All of my degrees are from affordable (relatively) schools. So a bit of smarts, strategic career mgmt, and here I am.

Arbitrage

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #53 on: May 08, 2018, 08:47:09 PM »
PhD scientist.  Would be much closer to FIRE (theoretically, assuming I went to work at the same place) if I had stopped at a M.S. 

CCCA

• Pencil Stache
  • born before the 80's
    • FI programming