Author Topic: How do I convince my wife to let me make the leap?  (Read 9096 times)

figuring_it_out

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
How do I convince my wife to let me make the leap?
« on: February 09, 2018, 11:03:32 AM »
If this is already a FAQ, my apologies.

Reading the MMM website has been amazing.  My wife and I are already natural frugal people, so much of the central themes are already a good fit.

However, my wife is very resistant to the idea of me quitting my job.  I have a fancy PhD and can make a big salary with nice benefits (particularly health insurance) in a job I hate, so it is hard to really hard for her to imagine me making the jump.  Also, while not as young as MMM, I'm only in my early 40s.  Part if it is that there is a lot of inertia in how things are. In particular, her Mom is very judgmental about the idea of me quitting, and this is a big influence on her.

The complication is that my wife is already living the retired life, raising our baby boy and managing her and her family's properties.  Frankly, this income would be more than enough for our family to live comfortably on.  Okay, so there is an implicit assumption that I'd be a worthless scumbag as a man if it appeared that I was living off my wife's wealth, even if I have described how I could materially help in managing those properties myself.  I have even offered to take on all of the management responsibilities myself, and I could imagine eventually learning how to do some of the repairs that they have to pay people to do, in the manner discussed in the MMM blog. 

Ok, fine, let's set that aside.  I have amassed my own assets as well.  My own stache is currently the following:  roughly $320K in various flavors of retirement accounts and $575K in an investment account, even after the recent correction.  Neither my wife or I have any debts.  Heck, I could even sell my 2013 econo-hatchback if  I no longer had my 15 minute commute.