Poll

How did you become a Mustashian?

You were basically born with a full blown stash straight from your mother's womb
20 (13.9%)
You stumbled a bit in your young and foolish years, but quickly saw the error of your ways
74 (51.4%)
You grew your stash because you wanted to have a stay at home parent when the minime's arrived
5 (3.5%)
You have lived the majority of your life in debt fueled abundance but have recently seen the light are are growing some stubble.
34 (23.6%)
Other
11 (7.6%)

Total Members Voted: 138

Author Topic: Has anyone pulled a Mustashian 180 - Poll  (Read 5735 times)

hunniebun

• Bristles
Has anyone pulled a Mustashian 180 - Poll
« on: January 18, 2015, 08:15:13 AM »
I have added a poll just to see how most people arrived at their stash! 

I am relatively new to the Mustashian way and would love to hear from someone (anyone?) who had made the switch from the 'average' way of life to the mustashian way of life.  It seems to me that for the most part, people here either started young, before kid; have always had frugal tendencies, or set up the infrastructure of their lives to accommodate just one income (to have a stay at home parent).  I am just curious if anyone has had success revolutionizing their way of life after living the 'American dream' (more like nightmare) for the majority of their life. How do you move from a lifestyle that requires 2 incomes to maintain to one where it is possible to save 50% or more of our income?  Tips?
« Last Edit: January 19, 2015, 02:34:55 PM by hunniebun »

firewalker

• Bristles
Re: Has anyone pulled a Mustashian 180 - After having kids?
« Reply #1 on: January 18, 2015, 08:47:05 AM »
There are more here who are early-on-the-path than you may think. One big step is having both parents working in harmony with your plans. Look for comments about getting one's other half on board. Raising kids requires unity. Planning financially does as well.

La Bibliotecaria Feroz

• Walrus Stache