Author Topic: Epic FU money stories  (Read 2798866 times)

GreenSheep

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Epic FU money stories
« Reply #3000 on: April 01, 2020, 01:38:50 PM »
My friend is a nurse and is in her 50-60s. At her age she is at high risk if she gets infected with COVID-19. She works at a hospital and was not allowed to use enough protective equipment due to potential shortages in future. She quit right away!

They did a great job financially and are going to be just fine.

YES!!! I've been waiting to hear a story like this! Patients will only be worse off in the long run if the people trying to care for them aren't well protected. Hospitals are not the caring, loving places their billboards would like you to believe. They are cold, hard businesses that happen to employ (usually) good, caring people.

ducky19

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #3001 on: April 01, 2020, 01:45:55 PM »
My FIL is a nurse by trade, but also a real estate whiz on the side (at one point had ~25 rentals, but has pared it back to 5-6 now that he's in his mid 70's). Yesterday we received a statewide emergency text asking for all medical professionals to sign up to volunteer. My wife immediately called him to tell him off if he was considering it, but he said, "nope, they couldn't pay me enough right now to do that". This from the man who would work an off shift for the bonuses, because... "$50/hour!". Glad he's got enough sense to stay far away from this tragedy. He's long since not needed the money and he's definitely in a high risk age group.

Alternatepriorities

• Handlebar Stache
  • Engineer, explorer, investor
    • Alternate Priorities
« Reply #3002 on: April 01, 2020, 01:48:38 PM »
My friend is a nurse and is in her 50-60s. At her age she is at high risk if she gets infected with COVID-19. She works at a hospital and was not allowed to use enough protective equipment due to potential shortages in future. She quit right away!

They did a great job financially and are going to be just fine.