Author Topic: Dumb drone questions/advice needed from techies  (Read 4064 times)

EconDiva

• Handlebar Stache
Dumb drone questions/advice needed from techies
« on: June 15, 2017, 07:19:42 AM »
I'm going on a trip and would really like to buy a drone to take with me.

However, I don't want to spend the money on one so I was thinking of buying a used one off Ebay.  I'm looking at the DJI Phantom 3 Pro.

I'm not a techie and have never flown one before.

Are they easy to use/fly?  I know this may sound silly but I'm thinking of buying a used one, using it for my trip, and then putting it back for sale on eBay or Craigslist once I return.  If this model is more complex and it isn't a good idea for a beginner to use I don't want to bother as I don't want to crash/damage it and not be able to resell it if that's what I choose to do. 

Otherwise I'll forget the drone idea and just get a GoPro Hero 4 videocam.

EDIT July 16, 2017:

I got a GoPro Hero 4 silver and just returned from my trip to Kauai.

I actually *also* bid on and won a DJI Phantom 4 (standard) drone but the person refunded my money stating 'something happened to it'.  Go figure.  It totally worked out because I had to learn how to use the GoPro while on vacay and figuring out how to use the drone too would have been just too much.  Also, my brother was originally going to fly from him his place in Oahu to meet me in Kauai but coudn't, so it's not like I would have had a second person to work one of the 2 devices.

Anywho, I'm pretty happy with the GoPro for now!  Here's my very first video I made with it!:

https://youtu.be/p5nTCCd9JSM

« Last Edit: July 16, 2017, 10:58:57 AM by EconDiva »

techwiz

• Magnum Stache
Re: Dumb drone questions/advice needed from techies
« Reply #1 on: June 15, 2017, 07:24:09 AM »