Author Topic: Does it make sense for me to downgrade my (just bought) vehicle?  (Read 2684 times)

SV19

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
My situation:

15k CC debt
60k student loan debt
15k car loan debt

I'm relatively new to the FI scene but am completely energized to fix things in my life to get to the point where FI could one day be possible.

I've had very bad luck with vehicles in general and so recently after my last vehicle died on me (a 2010 Sonata, 120k miles) after only 2 years of use,  I decided to go ahead and spend a little more for a 2016 Toyota Camry that had 18k miles on it. I got what I thought was a great deal on it, paid about $17.5 altogether. I had put $2500 down and received 3% financing.

The car itself is fine but I've never been a big car person to begin with and am now contemplating downgrading this new vehicle to a ~2010ish Prius. I want a car that is not going to give me headaches every few months and after doing a bit of research it seems that Prius' (outside replacing the battery) are as solid as can get.

Camrys also have a fantastic reputation however and so I think the more logical side of me is saying to stick with the vehicle I already have because the new Prius would still cost around ~$10k or so and it would probably have close to 100k miles on it compared to the 19k my Camry has now. The upside is I could have the newer car paid off sooner and I would assume the insurance would be cheaper.

My wife and I are trying to limit our expenses as reasonably as we can but I think I am leaning towards this exchanging of cars being more problematic than its worth.

Thoughts?

lbmustache

• Pencil Stache
Re: Does it make sense for me to downgrade my (just bought) vehicle?
« Reply #1 on: October 12, 2017, 11:38:42 AM »
I think the car you have is too expensive for the amount of debt you have.

With that said, what is your car worth, and what do you owe on it?

SV19

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: October 12, 2017, 11:42:41 AM »