Author Topic: Do you subscribe to any newspapers?  (Read 8077 times)

MsGizmo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Do you subscribe to any newspapers?
« on: May 18, 2015, 11:47:54 AM »
I would like to be a well-informed citizen. Sometimes at work my colleagues will get into discussions about the latest events. I'm a government lawyer so I don't necessarily need to be in-the-know for work purposes.

I've been thinking about subscribing to The Wall Street Journal or the city newspaper, but hate to spend $30 a month on something I likely won't have time to read in the morning anyway. (I am a late riser and am constantly running late for work).

So fellow, MMMers, I'd like to know what ya'll do to stay informed, if you choose to do so.

« Last Edit: May 18, 2015, 12:19:59 PM by MsGizmo »

nealusc

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Do you subscribe to any newspapers?
« Reply #1 on: May 18, 2015, 12:06:20 PM »
I subscribe to the Economist. It provides all the information I really want to know in order to be an informed person, without the sensationalist stories in most newspapers. It's where I get my science and Technology news, world news, political updates, and even book and museum exhibit recommendations. It always gives me something to talk about, too.

I have used airline frequent flyer miles to subscribe over the last few years, but I would have no problem paying the subscription fee. The value you get for the cost is incredible.

Jack

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: May 18, 2015, 12:19:36 PM »
I subscribe to the Atlanta Journal-Constitution, my city's major newspaper. I get paper papers on Thursday and Sunday because that's when the ads and coupons come out (and also have 7-day electronic access, which comes with all subscriptions).