Author Topic: Do you ever give money to panhandlers?  (Read 40412 times)

HAULIN3

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • Plant Strong!

Josiecat

• Bristles
Re: Do you ever give money to panhandlers?
« Reply #101 on: October 10, 2014, 03:43:24 PM »
I used to but now I don't.  We all pay taxes to support they folks in one way or another (food stamps, Medicaid, rental assistance, etc.).  They need to utilize the services provided to them.

Cookie

« Reply #102 on: October 11, 2014, 11:34:01 PM »
I once tried to give someone a McDonald's $20 gift card so he could buy food. He refused. Now I just donate to actual charities.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #103 on: October 12, 2014, 12:31:11 AM »

I once tried to give someone a McDonald's $20 gift card so he could buy food. He refused. Now I just donate to actual charities.

Cue (and queue) the line of people saying they don't blame him, and that McDonalds doesn't sell food, etc. ;)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

libertarian4321

• Handlebar Stache
« Reply #104 on: October 12, 2014, 04:05:13 AM »
Not directly.  We donate money to our local food bank.

Most of these people need serious help, but I don't want it to go to drugs or booze, so food banks it is.

Same here.  That way, I can be sure hungry people will be fed, and not spend the money on drink or drugs.

Elderwood17

• Pencil Stache
« Reply #105 on: October 12, 2014, 05:16:55 AM »
I don't.