Author Topic: Do you ever get "The Look"?  (Read 60806 times)

Gyosho

• Stubble
Do you ever get "The Look"?
« on: September 08, 2017, 10:29:17 AM »
Recently I got my condo painted. I live in the HCOL Bay Area, and own a two-bedroom condo. I am a single woman Mustachian with no obvious signs of wealth, and I keep my bicycle in my living room.

The painter and I were talking about the job, and he said, "This place, you rent it, right?"

I said, "No, I own it."

His face scrunched up and he gave me "The Look" - as though he wanted to ask "How can that be? That does not fit into my understanding of reality, that a single, non-wealthy-appearing woman owns a very expensive piece of real estate."

I have gotten "The Look" at other times also. I usually get it when I mention that I own a condo, but I have also gotten it when I mention I am a computer programmer - somehow I do not fit into people's stereotypical vision of what a computer programmer looks like (i.e. young and male and high-salaried).

Does anyone else get "The Look"? I have a very low-key appearance and do not flaunt my wealth, educational, or career accomplishments in any way, which seems to lead strangers to conclude that I am not wealthy or successful.

IWannaGo

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Do you ever get "The Look"?
« Reply #1 on: September 08, 2017, 10:46:06 AM »
Yep, I can relate - also female, been in IT for 20+ years and done well for myself....in recent years though ditched the fancy cars, fancy address, suits, heels, etc for a very natural look/presence.  Now, as I walk down the street in my super casual clothing and minimalist appearance, I find a certain smile that comes from within me as people make assumptions that maybe I'm not successful or have achievements in life....I'm laughing on the inside as I have a little secret they don't know about.