Author Topic: Did you pick up any new hobb(ies) during the quarantine ??  (Read 6228 times)

Jack0Life

• Pencil Stache
Now this is not the usual stuff you've been doing but new ones.
I love playing golf and the golf courses are open but I haven't gone once yet.
Stuff I've picked up that I have never done before.

1) Stock market. I usually spend 2-4 hours each day looking at the market. Have never bought stocks before(just mutual funds) and I find it a bit exciting. Still very much a noobie but its fun learning. Overall I'm ahead so that's a great thing.

2) Wood crafting. This is a hobby I surely will keep when I do retire. I bought myself a miter saw and you can make some quality wood stuff with that. I've been making garden beds and such for the wife. The funny thing is now when I look for deals, I'm trying to buy more tools to make my crafting easier.

3) Yard work. I used to hate this stuff. I haven't cut my own lawn in about 4 yrs. Its cumbersome. The grass cutting is tolerable but the trimming and edging I hate. Since I'm not doing anything I decided to cancel my lawn service(he didn't like it). My first time re-doing it, I find the trimming/edging still cumbersome. Went out and bought a cordless trimmer/blower and Holy Crap, its life changing. Why did I wait so long to buy cordless tools ?? I really enjoy keeping my yard pristine now.

My wife approves #2 and # 3 very much. She's OK with #1 probably cause I'm actually making a little money.
Wife's till working so I'm also doing most of the cooking and cleaning at home.

Zikoris

• Magnum Stache
  • Vancouverstachian
Re: Did you pick up any new hobb(ies) during the quarantine ??
« Reply #1 on: May 20, 2020, 12:03:08 AM »
I switched from learning Italian (for my now-dead June vacation to Italy) to learning Latin, which no pandemic can fuck up for me. Also, I've been reading way more than normal.

lazycow

• Bristles
« Reply #2 on: May 20, 2020, 01:30:06 AM »