Author Topic: Coronavirus - How can people be so incredibly stupid?  (Read 92345 times)

Anette

• Bristles
Re: Coronavirus - How can people be so incredibly stupid?
« Reply #450 on: March 26, 2020, 08:11:23 AM »
You could of course  turn this around and ask as well:
How are the hysterical people expecting the contrarians to let crippling anxiety take over their lives? And what is it supposed to be good for?
I will not call myself a contrarian, I am a nurse and working but I can't help being thought of by people on the forum as a contrarian because my opinion differs?

I am not even going to comment on twisting pea words to mean some of us are indifferent to people dying.

I think this was meant towards my comment and I'm not sure if you understood correctly.

What I meant to say there was that even if we didn't take any measures, the economy would suffer badly from this (see the examples about airlines/travel, schools, and events). We don't know how much though. Assuming that the pancemic would be worse if no measures were taken at all - for which I admittedly have no proof as most countries have taken measures - I would expect economic activity to drop as well as people will get more and more afraid to get infected, esp once hospitals would be unable to take up any more patients.

It is impossible to guess how much of an effect that would have on the economy ofcourse, as it would largely depend on individual human behavior which is harder to model than nationwide restrictions. Nobody knows how much economic activity would reduce when nothing is done.

So what I mean to say is that, if no measures are taken, the economy will still take a hit, we just don't know how big. It may even be (almost) as bad as the hit it's taken now, as the pandemic would be worse and go on much longer.

Than you for elaboration on the meaning of your sentence.

To your finishing line: