Author Topic: Celebrations Thread  (Read 1648209 times)

SunshineGirl

• Pencil Stache
Re: Celebrations Thread
« Reply #450 on: January 03, 2014, 08:59:58 AM »
Nice job, captainawesome!

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #451 on: January 03, 2014, 10:58:43 AM »
Nice!  You may be up for a promotion to majorawesome soon.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

bateloomer

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #452 on: January 03, 2014, 11:53:11 AM »
Congratulations, three excellent things to celebrate.

Mine is purchasing a second hand Prius ( due to the demolition of my SUV) is saving me at least $250 a month on petrol compared to the old gas guzzler.

I hope you love your Prius as much as I love mine!
\

That's how much I save in gas now too.  I spent $1500 on gas to drive 20k last year.
Yes - buy a Hybrid used!

MMMdude

• Bristles
« Reply #453 on: January 05, 2014, 02:34:24 PM »
So in updating my year end net worth calcs, I realize that with the value of my paid off home I am now a millionaire.  Doesn't really do much for me - perhaps makes me abit depressed as I am only half way there.  I don't think I will consider ER until I have $2mil net worth which would be about $400k in home and rest in investments.  I think many on here are unrealistic about what they may need...especially when it is a virtual lock that we will go through another 2008 meltdown at some point.  For those planning on retiring with 600, 700k etc, how can you possibly survive losing 40% of such a portfolio?

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #454 on: January 05, 2014, 03:12:57 PM »