Author Topic: Celebrations Thread  (Read 1648420 times)

rubybeth

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Celebrations Thread
« Reply #300 on: September 02, 2013, 01:06:52 PM »
We paid off the last of the student loans last week. It was our only debt. I wrote about it on my blog: http://rubybeth.WordPress.com We also paid for my DH's first semester of grad school tuition out of savings for that purpose this month. Hasn't quite sunk in yet... paid off $52k in less than 4 years, now paying cash for the next 3 years, likely $22k in tuition and books. Pretty exciting stuff! What a difference a mindset makes. :)

zendenise

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
    • thrivewithdenise.com
« Reply #301 on: September 06, 2013, 10:53:41 AM »
First victory! This is probably a no-brainer and everybody on here has probably already done it, but I'm new to this mustache-growing thing. I switched to Geico, and (not to sound like a commercial or anything) it is literally saving me 600 dollars a year! And the coverage is better! When I think of all the money I've thrown away over the years I want to stab myself in the eye with a fork, but what's done is done. Onward! Next up: getting rid of my cable.

NinetyFour

• CMTO 2023 Attendees
  • Walrus Stache
« Reply #302 on: September 06, 2013, 11:06:34 AM »
Congrats to rubybeth and zendenise!  All great stuff!

My recent accomplishments:

1) got my internet bill down from $55 to $30 per month
2) switched to Ting (had to buy a phone (used) but still will come ahead)--and I LOVE Ting's customer service! This will probably lower my phone bill from $50 to $30 per month
3) moved an inherited IRA from a local bank (where is was earning a pitiful amount on interest) to my TIAA Brokerage account
4) opened checking and savings accounts with Capitol One (will get a $50 bonus plus way better interest rates)
5) paid for repairs (instead of replacements) of two pairs of shoes
6) have done NO CLOWN CAR DRIVING since late May!!