Author Topic: Celebrations Thread  (Read 1648171 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Celebrations Thread
« Reply #200 on: May 26, 2013, 04:52:56 PM »
I just went through and did our household's budget recap for the first five months of the year. So far we've averaged $518 per person per month for food, brewing ingredients, household consumables, utilities, and rent! Like sol, we're celebrating in rich-as-hell people style: cheeseburgers, red wine, and maybe a board game!

I tip my hat to you and your roommates.  Truly inspirational.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

cbear

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #201 on: May 26, 2013, 07:50:23 PM »
I only discovered MMM over the weekend. Today I found my bike in the garage, found the necessary baskets, helmet, lock etc, pumped up the tires and pedaled the fearless Schwinn over to Food Lion where I bought some yummy groceries, AND a bag of charcoal, strapped it to my bike and biked home.  Entire trip...30 minutes and $28. 

The $28 I spent at food Lion was also the only money we spent this entire weekend.  We worked on our garden, read books, watched the new Arrested Development on Netflix, had a bonfire, did some photography, bbq'd, went on another bike ride.

We also decided that we can't afford an overseas trip this summer while paying down debt.  We'll do it next year.  This year, we'll have a stay-cation.   I decided to make it even more exciting by calling it a practice-retirement!

kdms

• Stubble
« Reply #202 on: May 27, 2013, 11:41:13 AM »
I added the cost of an impulse purchase to my weekly mortgage payment and shaved four months of payments off the amortization.