Author Topic: Career Start Advice  (Read 2884 times)

BoomBoomMancini

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Career Start Advice
« on: June 01, 2018, 09:36:01 AM »
Hi All!

Ive been a longtime reader of the forums but was hoping to get some advice so decided to finally make an account and post.

I am a recent college graduate (less than a month ago) with 2 degrees (Finance and Economics). I was unable to secure an internship during my time in school however, and I believe this has made my job search a little difficult. I am currently still seeking employment.

My dilemma is...

I have an offer on the table for a position in Northern Virginia which is a bit more salesy than I would prefer. Technically I would be a "Mortgage Banker" but the job is a low salary plus commission. With commission it does seem possible to make a decent amount of money at this position, but obviously thats not a guarantee and northern Virginia is a pretty HCOL area (and the first month and a half wouldnt allow me to earn any commission). Additionally, this job requires me to relocate to Virginia when I would prefer to find a job closer to Philly. Ultimately, if I could find another full time job in my area I would almost certainly take it over this one, but at the same time Id prefer to be employed as soon as possible. And if I do take this job its unlikely I will want to stay long term and will probably still look for work near Philly.