Author Topic: Calling all frugal PhD students  (Read 12066 times)

Hillcrester14

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Calling all frugal PhD students
« on: August 24, 2013, 08:25:59 AM »
Greetings everyone,

I'm a newcomer to MMM but have been a long time practitioner of frugality and have over the past few years focused on investing my savings. I am also a doctoral student living off of a stipend. I've seen a few odd posts here on the forum from folks mentioning their pursuit of a PhD and a frugal lifestyle, so I wanted to try and gather us together here on this thread to share our stories and share ideas.

I myself am a twentysomething social sciences PhD and have a stipend of $23,000 per year. I'm seeking to save $10,000-$13,000 of that per year and to do a max contribution to my Roth IRA. The rest I am putting into various index funds.

I am always tinkering with ways to save money, but mostly I stick to the basics of riding my bike to school, avoiding eating out, home brewing, and generally slaying my utilities bills. I am also seeking to start up some side hustles for a bit of extra income through using my carpentry skills as a weekend gig. This allows me to take a nice break from the taxing academic work too.

As much as I love the focus on FI on this blog, I also am a bit wary about folks over-emphasizing getting to FI as quickly as possible as opposed to pursuing something they love along the way. I realize FI is the door to doing things you love all the time. But I also love the scholarly life and cannot see myself working a desk job for five years just to get a bit ahead.

Enough about myself, however. If you are a PhD or graduate student, holler out here. I'd be curious to hear how you approach your finances and maximizing your savings from your stipend.

beltim

• Magnum Stache
Re: Calling all frugal PhD students
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2013, 11:57:56 AM »