Author Topic: Bought a New Car- Do I Deserve a Facepunch?  (Read 15011 times)

Snowman99

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Bought a New Car- Do I Deserve a Facepunch?
« on: July 23, 2018, 12:47:28 PM »
So the twelve year old civic I was driving needed over $1k of repairs to get her to pass inspection this month, which did not include a nebulous "check engine" light problem that also needed to be diagnosed.  I have been driving without AC for four years (commuting 2 hours a day)- another $1k fix for a new compressor.  Not to mention, I was borrowing my wife's car whenever I met with clients so they did not perceive (without justification of course) that they have a bad lawyer.  Edmunds tells me the car is worth between $250-$750.

Rather than throw good money after bad, I retired the old machine and purchased a BRAND NEW car.  Toyota Camry.  I did this because it didn't seem like a decent used car depreciated that much from new and it was just easier.  Dealer knocked down the price to about $20k (MSRP $25K).  New Camry's get about 41 MPG on the highway- about the same as the old Civic.

The car drives really nice and I financed it on account of the 0.9% interest rate.  I have no qualms about the purchase and am now scratching my head as to why I did not do this earlier on account of the ride quality, etc.  Car is necessary for work to meet clients, go to court appearances, depositions, etc.

I plan on keeping this car until it likewise becomes more of a problem than it's worth and it should likely last 10 or so more years (I drive about 20k miles a year).

I'm just wondering: do I deserve a face punch for this, or was this a sound decision?

jim555

• Magnum Stache
Re: Bought a New Car- Do I Deserve a Facepunch?
« Reply #1 on: July 23, 2018, 12:52:52 PM »
Ride it till the wheels fall off.  At least 15 years.  I bought new and rode a car for 16 years, and I'm on 10 on the latest one.

GuitarStv

• Senior Mustachian
« Reply #2 on: July 23, 2018, 12:54:34 PM »