Author Topic: Bitcoin: An Interesting Case of a Classic Bubble?  (Read 74466 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Bitcoin: An Interesting Case of a Classic Bubble?
« Reply #200 on: April 06, 2015, 12:22:15 PM »
Apparently his goat can do advanced hash verification processes in his head, thus earning him bit coins.

Duh.
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

Daley

• Magnum Stache
  • Still kickin', I guess.
« Reply #201 on: April 06, 2015, 01:00:22 PM »
I'm embarrassed to say this but.... I don't get it :-(

That's okay, it's Snuffy Smith. When you refer to "punchlines" in legacy strips like that, it's done only in the most abstract as they ceased actually being coherent or funny some time around the Korean War.

I will admit that I did "get" the "joke", but I didn't want it.

Far too many sarcasm quotes there...
« Last Edit: April 06, 2015, 01:02:15 PM by I.P. Daley »

dsmexpat

• Stubble
« Reply #202 on: April 06, 2015, 01:15:05 PM »
Since the thread has been resurrected by someone else, I no longer feel guilty about necroposting so I'm adding this...

Thoroughly stolen from Joshua Fruhlinger, The Comics Curmudgeon on March 30, 2015:
Barney Google and Snuffy Smith, 3/30/15

Hey, are you vaguely aware of bitcoin, the distributed cryptocurrency that very few people care about but the ones who do care about it care about it a lot and won’t shut up about it? Were you wondering when it would stop being a thing? Well, good news, it’s a punchline in Snuffy Smith, so I’m pretty sure it’s officially not a thing anymore.

The goat literally bit the coins.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian