Author Topic: Banks that show check payers on statment  (Read 2114 times)

etrium

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Banks that show check payers on statment
« on: April 15, 2018, 02:38:51 AM »
Not sure if this is the right room to post in, but please correct if there is a better place.

I work as a consultant, getting 1099s from different entities who pay me through paper checks. I was wondering if anyone knew of a bank that when depositing a check, it shows the payer on the statements.  much like how ach deposits show the payer on statements. right now, the banks i use show "remote deposit" under the details of a check deposited, and I have to get either copies of the checks or lookup the images of the checks to figure out the payer when I'm doing reconciliations.

thanks for all your help!

protostache

• Pencil Stache
Re: Banks that show check payers on statment
« Reply #1 on: April 15, 2018, 07:06:45 AM »
I don’t think this is technically possible with the check system we have in the US. That information simply isn’t available in machine readable form on most checks. All the bank reads is the routing and account number and does a plausibility check on the amount vs what you type in. I imagine they randomly human sample the amounts as well.

Checks are a pain in the butt. When I was heavily consulting I mandated ACH or wire transfers for all of my clients. Stripe has a cool setup these days that will generate a routing and account number per customer and then automatically mark an invoice as paid when they receive a matching deposit. If I were working with clients that’s what I would be using.

marty998

• Walrus Stache
« Reply #2 on: April 15, 2018, 03:32:15 PM »
Not sure if this is the right room to post in, but please correct if there is a better place.