Author Topic: Any reason not to roll 401k's into Trad IRA?  (Read 2627 times)

therethere

• Handlebar Stache
Any reason not to roll 401k's into Trad IRA?
« on: June 06, 2017, 03:49:04 PM »
I've been putting off consolidating some 401k's for a few years now. Recently unemployed so I have no 401k available. I have a small traditional IRA I contributed to one year only. Are there any main drawbacks to rolling the 401k's to a traditional IRA vs waiting until I have a current 401k available again?

Spork

• Walrus Stache
    • Spork In The Eye
Re: Any reason not to roll 401k's into Trad IRA?
« Reply #1 on: June 06, 2017, 03:56:58 PM »
My own personal opinion is that I would roll any 401k at the first opportunity I had.  My experience has been that tIRA's have more investment options at lower costs than any 401k I've had.  I'd much prefer to have the control.

geekette

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2 on: June 06, 2017, 04:04:49 PM »
The only reason I can think of to avoid rolling over would be if your old company had some great options with low costs.  Check management fees.

I was told when we consolidated that they can't charge a fee to transfer out of a 401k.  However you can get charged for changing companies with regular IRAs, so make sure if you transfer, it's where you want to stay. 

modulus

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #3 on: June 06, 2017, 04:09:03 PM »
Depending on how high your income will be this year and in future years, having an existing IRA balance (but not 401k) will mess up doing a back door Roth IRA contribution.

nouveauRiche

• Bristles
« Reply #4 on: June 06, 2017, 04:20:49 PM »
Years ago, I had four small 401K accounts from old jobs.  I rolled all of them into an IRA at Vanguard.  Waaaaay better.  Never looked back.

Bruinguy

• Stubble
« Reply #5 on: June 06, 2017, 04:21:10 PM »
Depending on how high your income will be this year and in future years, having an existing IRA balance (but not 401k) will mess up doing a back door Roth IRA contribution.