Author Topic: Advice on Running a Business  (Read 1628 times)

Carlin

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice on Running a Business
« on: June 07, 2018, 12:17:28 PM »
Hi everyone!  I am 25 years old, and I have just quit my $12/hr office job to teach piano and gig full time.  I currently have 27 students, and will have made about 30K by the end of this year.  That probably doesn't seem like a lot, but it's a lot more than I was making, or have the potential to make in IN through an employer.  Now that my schedule is more open I will also be able to ideally double that within the next 1-2 years.  Eventually I will raise my rates as well, and could be looking at a 70K+ income within 5 years or so.  This particular business is great because it also has very little overhead (I teach out of my home).     

This is my first year doing it seriously, and not as a side business and I have a few questions.  First of all, what can I approximately expect to pay in taxes based on what I will have made this year? 

Am I able to deduct all of my purchases such as books, gear, printer, paper, food and gifts for recitals...etc? 

I'm pretty young, so does anyone have any general advice for running, managing, and marketing this sort of business?  I'm very good at teaching and playing the piano, but I don't want to be passive.  I want to stay active and engaged, and build a strong business with different sources of income.  I want to become a fixture in my community. 

Anyway, I guess I'm just looking for guidance from all of you go-getters! Thanks in advance!

BTDretire

• Magnum Stache
Re: Advice on Running a Business
« Reply #1 on: June 07, 2018, 05:38:18 PM »
Congrates on the move.
Taxes: (Gross minus expenses minus $12k) x 10% of $9,525 + 12% of the rest
FICA: Gross minus expenses x 15.2%
Those numbers will give you an in the ballpark payment, but then next year just pay 100%
of the previous year and you're good.