Author Topic: 4% rule with two staches (ER stache & old money stache)? How to do it?  (Read 7585 times)

bigote2032

• Stubble
Hello all Mustachians!

My first post! I spent 3 months reading all the blog posts and finished last week.  I have a ton of questions and trying to find answers in this forum.  Forgive me if these has been covered before (I am sure many times but either I am not good with the search feature or those posts are buried somewhere).  Feel free to point me to posts that cover this.

Small intro: 39 year old living in the Pacific Northwest, married, no children (and no plans to have) with a good job in tech in one of the top tech companies & side consulting gigs; looking to FIRE between 50 to 55 years old depending on how the market treats me (I might post a case study someday). I am not going to lie to you, I don't hate my job but I don't really like it, it's just a job and I'd rather be playing rock music (my hobby). Only planning of FIRE with index funds and 401k since don't have interest or knowledge about real estate.

Question 1: I am maxing out my 401K.  The rest of my savings about 55% to 60% of my after-tax salary is going to index funds.  I will probably have to live from my index funds investments until I am 59.5. How do you do this? If I take 4% of my index funds and they account for 50% of my stache, I run the risk of depleting my funds.  Taking 2% won't be enough to live.

Question 2: I don't see too much information on the blog on how to actually live on FIRE.  It focuses on preparing and saving for FIRE.  There is only a post where MMM discuses how to get your money.  It's basically by setting all your funds to send you a check for the dividends & capital gains and selling some funds.  Selling your funds is scary, you are selling your capital and this is what provides you your dividends and gains, am I missing something here?

I have more related questions but want to keep this short so I don't overwhelm you.