Author Topic: 2024 FIRE Cohort  (Read 143208 times)

Purple_Crayon

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
  • 2026 cohort
Re: 2024 FIRE Cohort
« Reply #250 on: March 10, 2022, 09:57:30 AM »
Well... I may be jumping to a later class. Here are some details of the happenings in my neck of the woods:

I've been working in the employer benefits space for the last 7 years. It's super interesting but the culture at the current employer has drastically changed post COVID -- and not for the reasons one may assume. Essentially, when the Fed cut interest rates to zero, companies that make revenue on yield had margins slashed. At the same time, borrowers now could access debt financing at much lower lending rates. This pushed my industry into consolidation, with the big fish that had enough scale to still make a profit borrowing money to buy competitors (that were now losing money and willing to sell at fire sale prices). So we quickly went from being a 400 person company to a 4000 person company which is barely recognizable as the same place.

All of the above made me very willing to listen when a competitor reached out and presented an opportunity much more suited for what I like to do, at $45k higher salary. One caveat here is that they also offered a very large equity grant that locks me in for 4 years if I decide I want the whole pie. I fully recognize there will always be another carrot and to know when to politely decline, but I am tentatively planning on pursuing at least this one.

A set of recent events has made me more willing to consider said carrot when otherwise numbers suggest I should be downshifting: