Author Topic: Relocating to the UK from Canada!  (Read 6541 times)

lizi

• Pencil Stache
Relocating to the UK from Canada!
« on: May 02, 2018, 09:26:42 PM »
Well, it's official: DH and I will be relocating to Cambridge from Canada in July/August for his work! I've been lurking on the UK tax board and various journals, but now we have confirmation I feel confident about starting my own relocation thread. I've read through @Kwill's and it was super useful.

A bit about us:
I'm 32, Australian, and a chemical engineer by training, but I haven't had the chance to work in that field. My main working background is in research science (~5 years). I came to Canada on a university exchange in 2014, met a Canadian, fell in love, etc. I went back and forth between Australia and Canada while I finished my degree, then moved over at the end of 2015. We ended up in a town about 4 hours north of Toronto and I've been in survival mode job-wise since then as there isn't much engineering work. I ran a brewery for a year, attempted to be a mechanical engineer (lasted 5 months), worked at a ski hill as a Jill of all trades, and now I have a great little contract with the local cycling advocacy group.

DH is 37, Canadian, and has a cushy job with the government. Of the two of us, I am the frugal one, but he has made admirable progress in being steered towards a less spendy lifestyle. He will be working outside Cambridge, but we are hoping to live closer to downtown and have him ride out to work on the busway. He is a Cyclist (yes, with a capital C) so this commute would be perfect for him. 

We are incredibly fortunate that our living costs in Cambridge will be subsidised, so that lifts a huge cost off our shoulders. At the moment my living expenses are ~$CA1100 a month, so ~#650. I'm really hoping I can manage to live on around #800 a month, and I would be really interested to hear if you think that sounds feasible (or if I can do better!).