Author Topic: Am I too cautious or too adventurous ?  (Read 3606 times)

ExitViaTheCashRamp

• Bristles
Am I too cautious or too adventurous ?
« on: July 09, 2018, 12:12:56 PM »
Good Evening Folks,

Was hoping for some advice from folks who actually understand money. I fear both being too cautious and at the same time too adventurous ! I work as a IT contractor on 6 monthly rolling contracts, my job is ideal in many respect, I picked up the contract with some astonishing luck a few years ago. Whilst I have been more or less continuously employed since '99, whenever I have applied for other jobs I have failed miserably -- in fact the last time I actually applied for a job successfully was in 1999 ! This current contracting role just fell into my lap.

As such, I have a fear of losing my role and little belief in finding a professional role if (more likely when) I lose it. This has meant I have tended to hoard cash or virtually cash like products. My company (I own and control) picks up about £45k after costs per year  which is not increasing yearly. That part is harsh, but the job has some huge benefits and suits my families lifestyle.

So that said - am I hoarding too much cash ? Here is what I have:

Cash, effective 4% interest: 17.5K   (average increase of £700 p/m, more will reduce the average interest as I am at the limit of the good deals)
P2P, very low risk 3% interest: 3.5k
Cash in my company, 0% interest: 9k

Shares ISA: 19k
Company owned Shares: 5k (will increase by 1k p/m from new 'sales' of my services)

Our budget in a no-job scenario: 1.6k p/m. Other non-job income -- guess £600 p/m.

I cannot get the cash out of the company without a hefty tax hit, and no one wants company loose cash - so gaining interest on that 9k is not realistic.

So if I lose my role and fail to find another:

Year 1      ) First live on the cash in the company. Then sell the index funds it holds.   
 Year 2 & 3) Live on cash in my own accounts.
 Year 4 & 5) Sell my S&S ISA funds