Author Topic: Advice for a 60 year old  (Read 2349 times)

ruffles

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Advice for a 60 year old
« on: September 12, 2018, 04:41:19 AM »
Hi all,

A family member has noticed that I am a bit more on the ball with my finances than most, and has asked for my advice. The trouble is I'm no expert, and don't want to point him in the wrong direction.

Here are the details:

• He's 60 years old, in good health and thoroughly enjoys his well paid management job in the building and construction industry. Unless his health unexpectedly declines he would like to work until he is 66.
  • He's been contributing into a company pension for his entire career, albeit only a minimal amount. He admitted he has no idea how much his company pension is worth so will find out. He will also be eligible for full state pension when he reaches 66.
  • He's always lived close to his means, but he's enjoyed eating well and travelling the world, instead of buying expensive German cars and useless gadgets.
  • Has no debts and a paid off mortgage, and doesn't intend to sell up or downsize.
  • He has around £25k in savings which he is happy to put aside for retirement, and also wants to cut down on the expensive holidays so that he can save a significant amount each year for his retirement.

He understands that investing has its risks, but doesnt like the fact that his £25k makes very little interest in his savings account. He would like to know what the best thing is that he can do with his £25k, and any subsequent money that he can save between now and when he retires.