Author Topic: Uber Frugal January  (Read 69789 times)

wordnerd

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Uber Frugal January
« Reply #100 on: January 03, 2018, 07:50:25 AM »
The waiting period thing was interesting to me, I've been doing that for ~15 years. I have a 15-year-old spreadsheet of "things I want to buy" ranked by price, how much I want them, how many different utility functions it has. I rarely wait less than a month for a discretionary purchase, except eating out which is usually planned a week or so in advance. I always put even goodwill purchases on hold overnight.

It's fun to look back at the spreadsheet at what I wanted when I was an 18 year old punk compared to now a 30 year old yuppie. Back then I wanted adbuster's logo-less shoes, bike stickers, touring panniers (which I bought then and still have now) and pretty planners.  Now I want pretty planners, bike bags, and professional grown-up shoes.

A new duvet cover has been on the spreadsheet for 7 years now, and I still can't make myself buy it because the price:cost ranking still isn't high enough!

Ha! I may have to steal the spreadsheet idea. I get an unreasonable amount of joy looking back at lists from my former self. I wouldn't want to re-read my journal (too much opportunity for self-judging), but lists are the just the right amount of reminder of who I used to be.

I bought a duvet cover when I was 22 for my first big girl apartment. I still hate putting it back on after I wash it. Overrated.

monstermonster

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #101 on: January 03, 2018, 07:56:21 AM »
Here's my spreadsheet categories, in case it's helpful. Value is the value it represents (my core values are: community, creativity, travel, style, and health) and Emotion is the emotion it makes me feel. Reward for is if I can use a goal as a link to a reward - in the case of a really nice yoga shirt I want, for example, I get it when I get my splits consistently.