Author Topic: Stop Getting U.S. Mail in 2018  (Read 3618 times)

LiveLean

• Pencil Stache
    • ToLiveLean
Stop Getting U.S. Mail in 2018
« on: December 12, 2017, 07:28:16 AM »
My goal is to stop getting U.S. mail in 2018. I'm pretty close. If I've missed anything, please advise:

Here's what I've done:

1. All bill paying online.
2. All payments direct deposit. (I'm an independent contractor and receive many payments, and unfortunately a few clients still are not on-board or won't pay non-employees directly. So I still get some paper checks.)
3. Reduced magazines to online subscriptions.
4. Opted out of all mailing lists, credit card-generating things, etc.
5. Stopped sending Xmas cards.
6. Unsubscribed from all high school and college alumni stuff.

Things I need to figure out:

1. How to stop getting useless magazines that come with memberships while still keeping memberships (i.e. AAA and Costco. Actually, Costco is a decent magazine, but I rarely get around to reading it.)
2. How to stop getting political mail while remaining a registered voter. This probably isn't possible, especially here in Florida where every election at every level is a financial arms race of paper.
3. How to stop getting real estate solicitations of every kind.

Marley09

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Re: Stop Getting U.S. Mail in 2018
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2017, 07:51:39 AM »
I think that this is such a great idea!  I want to start the process of unsubscribing to all of the junk mail that we get.  I feel like we get an insane amount; junk mail probably takes up a quarter to half of the trash that we produce weekly.  Ugh!