Author Topic: Spend less than $10,000 in 2014  (Read 48816 times)

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
Re: Spend less than $10,000 in 2014
« Reply #50 on: February 13, 2014, 06:34:52 AM »
That makes sense.  Middle East is another option we looked at, and that pays more around 60k gross from what we've seen.  25 is pretty low.
I've had my eye on the Middle East as well, but I'm hoping to get several years with a single school and a solid recommendation before I move (and I'm pretty happy with the amount of free time). 60k is on the higher end of what I've seen, but maybe you're doing better research than I am. If you pursue this more, make a thread.

I guess that is on the higher end.  http://www.teachaway.com/teaching-jobs-abroad/elementary-teachers-abu-dhabi-public-schools-3

I'd be fairly confident in getting it though (but I have a masters and multiple years experience).

And secondary (think: high school) positions I've seen can pay more.

(Okay, I'll go back OT, just wanted to leave that link for you in case you wanted to follow up.  There is a thread already about teaching overseas, somewhere.)
I am a former teacher who accumulated a bunch of real estate, retired at 29, spent some time traveling the world full time and am now settled with three kids.
If you want to know more about me, this Business Insider profile tells the story pretty well.
I (rarely) blog at AdventuringAlong.com. Check out the Now page to see what I'm up to currently.

arebelspy

• Administrator
  • Senior Mustachian
« Reply #51 on: February 13, 2014, 06:36:16 AM »
Climbing Shoes + Rope - $300

I'm sure you already have shoes and rope, so do you really go through them fast enough that you need to buy $300 worth every year?  Or are they just so expensive that the $300 is like one pair of shoes and 2 ropes?

Also I'm sure like 2/3 of that food budget is oranges, right?  ;)