Author Topic: Own up to your internet usage  (Read 28195 times)

LWYRUP

• Handlebar Stache
Re: Own up to your internet usage
« Reply #250 on: June 15, 2020, 11:15:51 AM »
i work in IT and am generally happy with the extremely high amount of time i spend on the internet.

However.

Can anybody recommend an electric collar to give me a small shock whenever i put a "9" into the address bar?

What's wrong with the number 9?  When I searched I got a couple hits for movie reviews. 

Luz

• Bristles
« Reply #251 on: June 16, 2020, 10:27:22 PM »
I did 1 hour, 45 minutes all 3 surf sessions this week. Yesterday I was intending to study Spanish, but got done with my side hustle early and decided to take the 15 extra minutes to catch up on the news rather than jump right into Spanish. I didn't end up getting to Spanish. But I turned off the news in time to get a decent amount of sleep, so that was positive.

It would have been fine to take time to read the news AFTER studying Spanish, in line with the "eat the frog" productivity hack that's been working so well the past few weeks (it makes me feel like I'm coasting downhill all day). I studied Spanish this evening and updated other MMM challenges (but I definitely had more urges to blow off my responsibilities or rearrange them in my schedule in order to procrastinate).  So my challenge is to keep with what's been working- hardest thing first.

I remember in 2014 with the Michael Brown shooting (and oh my god, Kajieme Powell) spending hours and hours reading the news and articles about the criminal justice system. It's good to be aware, but there's definitely a point for me (and it doesn't take much) at which getting caught up in the news leads to disillusionment and inaction. So it's a fine balance. Stay in the loop, but also in a place psychologically where I'm actually of use.