Author Topic: Maximize PhD Stipend Savings  (Read 5127 times)

Hillcrester14

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Maximize PhD Stipend Savings
« on: August 24, 2013, 08:28:12 AM »
Greetings everyone,

I'm a newcomer to MMM but have been a long time practitioner of frugality and have over the past few years focused on investing my savings. I am also a doctoral student living off of a stipend. I've seen a few odd posts here on the forum from folks mentioning their pursuit of a PhD and a frugal lifestyle, so I wanted to try and gather us together here on this thread to share our stories and share ideas.

I myself am a twentysomething social sciences PhD and have a stipend of $23,000 per year. I'm seeking to save $10,000-$13,000 of that per year and to do a max contribution to my Roth IRA. The rest I am putting into various index funds.

I am always tinkering with ways to save money, but mostly I stick to the basics of riding my bike to school, avoiding eating out, home brewing, and generally slaying my utilities bills. I am also seeking to start up some side hustles for a bit of extra income through using my carpentry skills as a weekend gig. This allows me to take a nice break from the taxing academic work too.

I'd like to call on all the fellow PhD students popping around this blog and forum to join me in my quest to save. My goal for this year is $12,500 from $23,000 in a relatively low cost of life city. What are you shooting for?

Vanguards and Lentils

• Bristles
Re: Maximize PhD Stipend Savings
« Reply #1 on: August 24, 2013, 11:07:52 AM »
(btw you posted nearly the same topic on another subforum. I don't think you should do that, for everyone's ease of use.)

I'm just starting grad school this year on ~22k/year. My budget (loosely adapted from my spreadsheet) is the following:

yearly/one-time:
5000: debt to family members (0% but I must not delay paying it back)
5000: roth IRA
2200: tithe
200: furnishings for (unfurnished) partment
50: dental plan
10: vision plan

monthly: