Author Topic: Flipping Items for Extra Money - Share, brag, challenge yourself!  (Read 3608 times)

LindseyC

• Stubble
I did a search and didn't see any posts specific to sharing items that you are flipping for extra money.

Does anyone purchase items to flip? Do you have a specialty? Where do you find your items? Want to post pictures and "humble brag?" This is the spot to share all your successful and unsuccessful flips!

Personally, I had an online vintage shop for years that I flipped household and decor items in. So I have lots of experience with vintage items. I also sourced bigger items for a few brick and mortar stores and was a picker for a few individuals. I became seriously ill for about 4 years so stopped this side business but lately I have been feeling better and decided to start out slow with a few easy flips.

This month I sold 2 identical side tables I bought for $90 on the way home from work one day. I sold them for $130. It was an easy twenty minutes of total effort. I have just purchased an original Knechtel dresser for $85 and I currently have it listed for $350. My goal is to earn a minimum of $200 a month on average, but I have to start out slow as I am using my profits from flips to buy my next items and for health reasons I still have to be conscientious of not taking too much on all at once.

JoJoP

• Bristles
Re: Flipping Items for Extra Money - Share, brag, challenge yourself!
« Reply #1 on: February 05, 2018, 08:19:10 AM »

Congrats on your success/

I have a real knack for finding a bargain, but poor resale habits.   

I've made good purchases (art purchased for $20 and sold for $400, and other success stories), but basically this side hustle works best if your clutter tolerance is very low.   I had to "give up" thrift store shopping, yard saleing and other forms of bargain hunting because I found the lure of the bargain to be too strong, but the hassle of selling overwhelming and slow.