Author Topic: Eat All The Food In Your House - Take 2  (Read 1183523 times)

Worsted Skeins

• Bristles
Re: Eat All The Food In Your House - Take 2
« Reply #400 on: April 17, 2015, 06:42:02 PM »

I have never done it before, but if it works, I think it will be a major win. Seems like I'm always struggling to use up potatoes that go faster then I expect and I'm usually tempted (but never succumb) to those horribly expensive freezer hash browns.

Exactly!  As I said before, brilliant idea!  Good luck with it and I will be trying it too.

tofuchampion

• Bristles
    • MadeByMarilynM
« Reply #401 on: April 17, 2015, 08:16:47 PM »
Oh, to figure out how sugar is in your vanilla yougurt, 4 g = a teaspoon. So for example one of those tiny little 113 cups of Activia vanilla yogurt have 4 tsp of sugar. But of course, we mustachains never buy little tubs of yogurt. So you have to figure out your typical serving size and maths it out. Hubby use to get Astro vanilla and it has 13 g per 1/2 cup. He figures he probably has 1 1/2 cup serving for breakfast so that is almost 10 tsp JUST from his yogurt.

That's not all added sugar, though. Some of it is naturally occuring in the milk used to make the yogurt, so even plain yogurt has some sugar (though obv much less!). I don't know if there's any way to know how much is added sugar; I suppose you could compare equal amounts of plain vs. flavored/sweetened.

Anyway, hi. I'm in on the eat-all-the-food thing. I have huge bags of quinoa, lentils, oats, and brown rice from Costco that I've had for months and barely touched. Lots of odds and ends, including some canned things that I've had since before we moved nearly a year ago. It's really not that much food, but I have a pretty tiny kitchen, so it gets cluttered fast. I think my first step is going to be to do an inventory of everything I have, then figure out what I can make with it.

swick

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #402 on: April 17, 2015, 11:07:55 PM »