Author Topic: DONT Payoff your Mortgage Club  (Read 891416 times)

SwordGuy

• Walrus Stache
Re: DONT Payoff your Mortgage Club
« Reply #2100 on: March 07, 2020, 02:24:28 PM »
Once you don't have an escrow account, it's no big deal if your loan sells, but I remember what a pain in the ass it can be. My first home loan must have been sold at least six times. It sucked.

This is actually why we're considering not escrowing this time around, just to avoid dealing with the pain that might be.
DH adamantly prefers this. Therefore, when taxes are due on four properties, it is a huge chunk of change. It hurts to write those checks, even though we're savers and always have plenty of cash. Just for grins, our tax bill is in excess of $26k per year. Yay for California high-priced real estate.
Our broker gave us the option of not escrowing without any additional fees. I have never done that before but since our last mortgage company kept screwing it up, I am choosing to pay everything myself this time around. Just have to remember to put that money to the side.

We own 9 houses and only 2 of them are mortgaged and under escrow.  So when September comes along, writing those 7 checks hurts!      We set aside income from the rental properties for the taxes and insurance, and only spend the money on us after those two costs are covered for the year.   It takes about 4 months rent to cover the properties that are rent-ready.    The rest have those costs added in as part of the renovation costs.  I prepay the insurance for a year first thing when I buy them and make sure to set aside tax money on non-rented properties from the rented property profits.

Raenia

• Magnum Stache
« Reply #2101 on: March 07, 2020, 06:10:23 PM »