Author Topic: 2016 Financial Goals - Peach fuzz (noob) edition  (Read 64730 times)

OmahaSteph

• Pencil Stache
    • Journal: The Slow Lane to FIRE
2016 Financial Goals - Peach fuzz (noob) edition
« on: December 03, 2015, 10:29:07 AM »
There's a really awesome thread going for 2016 financial goals, but as a total noob, some of the numbers, terminology, giant leaps, etc. are making my head explode. Thought it might be helpful for some (like me) to start a thread for those of us who are just growing out our peach fuzz.

Originally posted this here: http://forum.mrmoneymustache.com/share-your-badassity/mustachian-life-changes-made-in-2015/

In 2016:

*Pay off other credit card
*Start throwing massive payments at auto loan
*Pay back parents for loan (for relocation and crooked divorce attorney)
*Move to more Mustachian apartment when current lease is up
*Take work clothes to a tailor to be tweaked instead of buying new
*Buy a bike and trailer for me and begin doing errands
*Cut gas consumption in half
*Slowly and gently convince SO to forgo hedonistic purchases in favor of paying off his debt
*Publish another novel and pimp others to increase royalties (second income)
*Research investment options for when high-interest debt is paid off and become more financially literate in general

And, GO!

AmandaS1989

• Handlebar Stache
  • Ferocious Accounting Beast
Re: 2016 Financial Goals - Peach fuzz (noob) edition
« Reply #1 on: December 03, 2015, 02:53:28 PM »
I've already posted on the other thread but I'll post here too as I am also a noob at this.

1. Build savings account up to $1500

2. Up 401k contribution to 6%

3. Pay off PLUS loan

4. Pay off phone and change to cheaper carrier

5. Pay off the couple hundred I charged for Christmas gifts (one of those gifts being a new box spring and mattress for my folks)

6. Pay off personal loan

7. Maybe work on writing an ebook for publication (If I don't wimp out)

OmahaSteph

• Pencil Stache