Author Topic: Timing of Amended Return for 2015  (Read 1835 times)

bobcobb7

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
Timing of Amended Return for 2015
« on: February 08, 2017, 01:57:56 PM »
Hey all,

Question on timing of an amended return. I assume it should be done ASAP, but have never had to amend a return before.

I was working on my 2016 taxes and after going through both federal and state, I noticed something in my Maryland State return. As a teacher, my wife contributes to the pension plan. It shows up on her W-2 under box 14 as STPICKUP and from my quick reading, is tax deferred for Federal income tax, but not for state.

The STPICKUP number is an addition for the state income on top of our federal AGI. I noticed the number for 2016 was much larger than 2015 and after a quick check, I entered the number incorrectly on our 2015 taxes. As a result, we received an extra couple hundred dollars in our state refund. Therefore, this impact on the state refund we received for 2015 in turn impacts our federal income taxes for 2016 (should reduce them ever so slightly). Our state taxes will also be impacted as the smaller state refund will decrease our subtractions on the 502 form.

All that said, do I amend our 2015 federal and state returns and just sit tight waiting to file 2016 until I hear back? I think I send payment for the difference to Maryland with the amended return.

Any advice appreciated. Thanks

SeattleCPA

• Handlebar Stache
    • Evergreen Small Business
Re: Timing of Amended Return for 2015
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2017, 06:40:59 AM »
I would amend 2015 ASAP... and then I'd do 2016.

I think I get what you're saying about the state tax refund. But for 2016, I think you report the actual (incorrectly large) refund since you're a cash basis tax payer.

bobcobb7

• 5 O'Clock Shadow
« Reply #2 on: February 09, 2017, 07:27:46 AM »